Results of American Association of Law Libraries Election for 2008

Monday, December 3, 2007
AALL Election Results

This year we received 1597 ballots (33% of total dues paying members).

Darcy Kirk, AALL Secretary, has just notified all the candidates running for office, so I am now pleased to announce the results of the AALL election for 2008.

Vice President/President-Elect:
(July 2008 – July 2009) Catherine Lemann

(July 2008 – July 2011) Ruth J. Hill

Executive Board:
(July 2008 – July 2011) Carol Bredemeyer Christine L. Graesser

Congratulations to our successful candidates and a big thank you to all who agreed to run for office. It is this commitment and dedication that makes the profession of law librarianship, and especially AALL, a strong and vibrant community.

Survey Results Of those who cast ballots, 53% chose to respond to our survey. Here are the results:

Type of Library where currently employed:

Corporate 17 (2%)
Court 64 (8%)
Government 66 (8%)
Independent 15 (2%)
Law Firm 279 (33%)
Law School 368 (43%)
Other 35 (4%)

Years an AALL Member:

Zero to Five 152
Six to Ten 134
Eleven to Fifteen 143
Sixteen or more 418

Contact Information