2010 ABA Silver Gavel Award Presentation

This is indeed the season for presenting awards. The ABA Silver Gavel Awards honor those in media and the arts that foster a better understanding of the law. All are invited to the Gavel Awards presentation at the National Press Club, Washington, D.C. on July 7 at 5:00 p.m. The event is preceded by a reception and registration is required [http://www.abanet.org/publiced/gavel/presentation.shtml

Here are the event details sent to us by the ABA:

Event Details Wednesday, July 7, 2010 5:00 – 6:30 P.M.
National Press Club Ballroom, 13th Floor
529 14th Street, NW Washington, DC http://press.org/

(Business attire recommended)

Awards Presenter ABA President Carolyn B. Lamm
Guest Speaker Daniel Zwerdling
National Correspondent, National Public Radio
Registration is required. Register at http://www.abanet.org/publiced/gavel/presentation.shtml#reg .

Refreshments will be served
2010 Honorees Scheduled to Attend Include:


> MAGAZINES – Trial by Fire, The New Yorker, New York, New York David Grann, Staff Writer

> NEWSPAPERS – Presumed Guilty: The Story Behind the Headlines of the Greatest Miscarriage of Justice in Nebraska’s Modern Legal History, The Lincoln Journal Star, Lincoln, Nebraska Peter Salter, City Editor Catharine Huddle, Assistant City Editor Joe Duggan, Reporter
> TELEVISION – Juvenile Rehabilitation, ABC News Primetime, New York, New York Chris Cuomo, Correspondent Joseph Diaz and Anna Sims-Phillips, Producers
> RADIO – California’s Three Strikes Law: 15 Years of Controversy, National Public Radio, Washington, DC
Ina Jaffe, Correspondent Amy Walters, Producer Bill Craven, Logistical Manager
> WEBSITES – SCOTUSblog, Washington, DC
Tom Goldstein, Publisher Amy Howe, Editor Erin Miller, Manager

> BOOKS – Snitching: Criminal Informants and the Erosion of American Justice, New York University Press, New York, New York Alexandra Natapoff, Author
ABA Silver Gavel Awards
The American Bar Association [http://www.abanet.org/publiced ] has presented these awards since 1958 to recognize products in media and the arts published or presented during the preceding year that are exemplary in fostering the American public’s understanding of law and the legal system. Eligible categories include books, newspapers, magazines, commentary, documentaries, drama and literature, radio, television programs, and websites. The Silver Gavel Award is the ABA’s highest honor in recognition of this purpose and no more than one Silver Gavel is presented in each category. In addition, Honorable Mention citations may also be presented. The Gavel Awards are highly selective-this year the ABA is presenting only 5 Silver Gavels and 3 Honorable Mentions among nearly 200 entries received in all eligible categories. Find out more details about the winning entries. [http://www.abanet.org/publiced/gavel/winners2010.shtml ].

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of Vinson & Elkins [www.velaw.com ] for the Silver Gavel Awards program.

Contact Information