American Law Institute (ALI) Elects 47 New Members

The folowing is from an American Law Institute Press Release:

(Philadelphia) –
“It is a great pleasure to welcome these distinguished and influential individuals to The American Law Institute,” said ALI President Michael Traynor. “Members are elected through a highly selective process that recognizes people for their significant professional achievements and a demonstrated interest in the improvement of the law. ALI’s membership consists of judges, practicing lawyers, and legal scholars from all areas of the United States as well as a growing number of foreign countries. Election is considered one of the highest honors in the legal profession.”

Newly elected members are:

Ronald G. Aronovsky, Professor, Southwestern University School of Law, Los Angeles, CA William Scott Bales, Justice, Supreme Court of Arizona, Phoenix, AZ Lynne A. Battaglia, Judge, Maryland Court of Appeals, Annapolis, MD John B. Bellinger, III, Legal Adviser, U.S. Department of State, Washington, DC Susan Bisom-Rapp, Professor, Thomas Jefferson School of Law, San Diego, CA Sarah L. Brew, Esquire, Greene Espel, Minneapolis, MN Robert Mims Chesney, Professor, Wake Forest University School of Law, Winston-Salem, NC E. B. Chiles, IV, Esquire, Quattlebaum, Grooms, Tull & Burrow, PLLC, Little Rock, AR Sarah H. Cleveland, Professor, Columbia University School of Law, New York, NY Darby Dickerson, Dean, Stetson University College of Law, St. Petersburg, FL Arthur W. S. Duff, Esquire, O’Melveny & Myers LLP, Washington, DC Matthew H. Duncan, Esquire, Fine, Kaplan and Black, RPC, Philadelphia, PA Catherine L. Fisk, Professor, Duke University School of Law, Durham, NC Simon J. Frankel, Esquire, Covington & Burling LLP, San Francisco, CA William Funk, Professor, Lewis & Clark Law School, Portland, OR Paul R. Garcia, Esquire, Kirkland & Ellis LLP, Chicago, IL Heather Gerken, Professor, Yale Law School, New Haven, CT Hal K. Gillespie, Esquire, Gillespie, Rozen, Watsky & Jones, PC, Dallas, TX Jennifer J. Johnson, Professor, Lewis and Clark Law School, Portland, OR Phil Johnson, Justice, Supreme Court of Texas, Austin, TX Craig N. Johnston, Professor, Lewis and Clark Law School, Portland, OR Christine Jolls, Professor, Yale Law School, New Haven, CT Glenn S. Koppel, Professor, Western State University College of Law, Fullerton, CA Joel L. Kurtzberg, Esquire, Cahill Gordon & Reindel, New York, NY Richard J. Lesch, Esquire, Darling, Bergstrom & Milligan, PC, Denver, CO Seth R. Lesser, Esquire, Locks Law Firm PLLC, New York, NY Janice MacAvoy, Esquire, Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson, New York, NY Nancy A. McLaughlin, Professor, University of Utah , S.J. Quinney College of Law, Salt Lake City, UT Alexandra Natapoff, Professor, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles, CA Nina Perales, Southwest Regional Counsel, Mexican American Legal Defense & Educational Fund, San Antonio, TX Timothy J. Petumenos, Esquire, Birch Horton Bittner & Cherot, Anchorage, AK Frank A. Pfiffner, Esquire, Hughes Bauman Pfiffner Gorski & Seedorf, LLC, Anchorage, AK W. Michel Pierson, Judge, Maryland Circuit Court for Baltimore City, Baltimore, MD Vincent I. Polley, Esquire, Dickinson Wright PLLC, Bloomfield Hills, MI Ghillaine A. Reid, Esquire, Gibbons P.C., New York, NY John H. Rich, III, Esquire, Perkins Thompson, PA, Portland, ME Kermit Roosevelt, Professor, University of Pennsylvania Law School, Philadelphia, PA Robin Russell, Esquire, Andrews Kurth LLP, Houston, TX E. Budd Simpson, Esquire, Simpson Tillinghast & Sorensen, PC, Juneau, AK Kaighn Smith, Jr., Esquire, Drummond Woodsum MacMahon, Portland, ME Lionel D. Smith, Professor, McGill University Faculty of Law, Montreal, Canada Maxwell L. Stearns, Professor, University of Maryland School of Law, Baltimore, MD H. Mark Stichel, Esquire, Gohn, Hankey & Stichel, LLP, Baltimore, MD Mark R. Trachtenberg, Esquire, Haynes and Boone, LLP, Houston, TX Michael A. Vigil, Judge, New Mexico Court of Appeals, Santa Fe, NM Simon J. Whittaker, Professor, University of Oxford, St. John’s College, Oxford, England Michael G. Williamson, Judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Middle District of Florida, Tampa, FL

About The American Law Institute The American Law Institute was founded in 1923 and is based in Philadelphia. The Institute, through a careful and deliberative process, drafts and then publishes various restatements of the law, model codes, and other proposals for legal reform “to promote the clarification and simplification of the law and its better adaptation to social needs, to secure the better administration of justice, and to encourage and carry on scholarly and scientific legal work.” The Institute’s incorporators included Chief Justice and former President William Howard Taft, future Chief Justice Charles Evans Hughes, and former Secretary of State Elihu Root. Judges Benjamin N. Cardozo and Learned Hand were among its early leaders.

For more information about The American Law Institute go to

Contact Information